Uncategorized

Vintage Avon: A Gift from a Friend

For today’s vintage Avon blog post, I am not going to feature a piece of jewelry. Instead, I want to show you this cute little figurine that I received as a gift many years ago and that I keep to this day.

20170125_144615

 

When I was a teenager, my school’s French class participated in a pen pal exchange program. Each student was paired up with a student from another country. I was matched with a girl from England. We became friends and exchange letters, Christmas cards,  and birthday gifts for many years. One of the birthday gifts she sent me was this little mouse enjoying a piece of birthday cake. It is marked Avon on the bottom. I don’t know if this was ever available in the US, and I don’t remember exactly the year she gave it to me, but it was probably in the late 80s or early 90s.

My friend is now the mom of a beautiful baby girl and has moved to another country. Although we no longer write letters like we once did, we still keep in touch via Facebook. This gift will always remind me of the sweet, fun, and easy friendship of our teenage years and young adulthood, and I am glad that it has survived until today.

Here are few more shots of the little guy:

20170125_144043

20170125_144219

20170125_144155

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

