Uncategorized

My New Bullet Journal for 2017

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope you had a wonderful holiday season and are now ready to take on all the wonderful things that 2017 has in store for us. I, for one, am raring to go and get this blog hopping again. Today, I want to show you my new bullet journal for 2017, but first, let me share how I was first introduced to this great yet simple idea.

Over the years, I have tried a myriad of planner formats, but they either were not customizable enough for my needs or I became overwhelmed by all the layouts, stickers,  doodles, and washi tape extravaganzas that you see on blogs and YouTube videos. It seemed to me that too much time was invested in decorating the planner, which is fine if you’re artistically inclined. I’m not. I needed something simple and customizable.

I asked on a message board ( yes, they still exist) what planner they recommended and someone mentioned the bullet journal.  My research led me to Ryder Carroll and his incredibly simple concept of turning any notebook into a planner. I knew immediately that this was exactly what I’d been looking for.

All of this happened in October of last year, and I tried the bujo (short for bullet journal) system for three months using a cheap Dollar Tree notebook and a Bic pen. I wanted to make sure that this was a system that I could stick with. By the end of December, I had not doubt in my mind that I had found my perfect planner.

Since then, I have fallen down the YouTube rabbit hole of beautiful doodles, watercolors, layouts, lettering and other artistic manifestations. Alas, my bullet journal will probably never reach those levels of artistic expression, but it will always be functional and catered specifically to my needs. Maybe some day I will create a page that is worthy of sharing on this blog, but until then, you will have to settle for a picture of the journal that I have decided to use for 2107.

20170123_085548.jpg

I chose this notebook from Artist’s Loft. I purchased it at Michaels craft store. I loved the gold polka dots against the blue background, and I loved the magnetic closure. The white ribbon is my own addition.  The pen that I’ve decided to use is the PaperMate Flair M in black ink. If I ever become more adventurous with my bujo pages, I will try the Flair color pens.

These are some of the things I’m going to keep track of in 2017 using tracker lists in my bullet journal:

  • Blog ideas
  • Books read in 2017
  • Movies watched in 2017
  • YouTube video ideas
  • Avon business goals
  • Home repair/decor projects
  • Savings tracker

There you have it, folks. Please share in the comments if you have ever tried the bullet journal system or whatever your favorite planner system happens to be. I wish you all the very best in this new year. xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “My New Bullet Journal for 2017

  1. I’ve been using a Bullet Journal for a little over a year now and it’s made me so much more productive and organised. I’m definitely a practical rather than pretty layout type of journal, much better to spend my time getting stuff done!

    Like

  2. I’m pretty new to the Bullet Journal and I love it! I’m not terribly creative but I had some crayola markers laying around so I’ve added some color to mine where I’ve been brave enough. I also started out in a .99 notebook just to be sure I would like it and now I’m using the suggested Leuchtturm 1917. I like how the dot grid helps me keep my lines straight 😉 I’ve posted some pictures of my January spreads if you want to take a peek
    https://artisticsharon1216.wordpress.com/2017/01/08/doing-and-procrastinating/

    Like

Leave a Reply

